Pavia Tour Logo
ponte_coperto-intro_1

The Covered Bridge of Pavia

The present bridge, suggestive symbol of Pavia, replaces the ancient Medieval bridge. The original monument, started in 1352 on the plan of Giovanni da Ferrara and Jacopo da Cozzo, over the ruins of a previous Roman bridge, had six piers and seven arches with different span. Its main feature was the roof covering, built by Galeazzo II Visconti after the capture of the city (1360).
After, in different periods, there were many additions: the entrance portal from Borgo Ticino (1599); a chapel dedicated to St Giovanni Nepomuceno, patron of drowned men (eighteenth century); finally, an entrance portal from the old town centre, made by Amati (1822).
In 1944, during the Second World War, the Allies’ bombs damaged the ancient fourteenth-century bridge and, because of the fear of structural collapses and the scant respect for the historic monuments in that period, it was completely destroyed in 1948. A few rests of the piers of the ancient bridge are still visible on the river, under the water.
The present bridge, built in 1951 and unveiled by the President Luigi Einaudi, links the centre of the city and the picturesque Medieval suburb on the other side of Ticino river, traditional place of washerwomen, gravel quarrymen and fishermen.